The Auto-Exclude page of the Preferences window contains settings for automatically ignoring specific files and folders during backup.

Some system files and folders on the computer are not designed to be taken by Genie Timeline manual file selection. Disaster Recovery is designed to handle these files.

To Enable Auto-Exclude:

  1. From Preferences → Go to Auto-Exclude.
  2. Select Enable Auto-Exclude (Recommended).
  3. Click OK to save changes.

To exclude hidden files from backup:

This option will only apply on backing up hidden files selected from My Computer.

  1. Select Exclude hidden files.
  2. Click OK to save changes.

To add files/folders to Auto-Exclude:

  1. Click Add.
  2. Type the file/folder path of the item and description (optional).
  3. Click Done.
  4. Click OK to save changes.

To remove files/folders from Auto-Exclude (not recommended for pre-generated auto-exclude items):

  1. Select the File/Folder path.
  2. Click Remove.
  3. Click OK to save changes.

Notes:

  • You must enter the full path of the folder/file needed to be excluded.
  • Use filters to exclude file types from backup.