Exclude files from backup

There are various means for excluding files or locations from backup. Only the first method will actually delete all file versions from the backup, the latter methods will only exclude newer versions from being added. Method 1: Right click a file/folder → Point to Genie Timeline → Remove from backup. This will also delete all […]

Read More

Show versions of backed up files

Genie Timeline enables users to view versions of a backed up file. To show versions of backed up files: Method 1: From My Computer, right-click the file. Point to Genie Timeline. Select Show Versions. To restore a version, select it from the list and click Restore. Method 2: From Timeline Explorer, right click the file. […]

Read More

Add items to backup from context menu

To add data to backup directly from Windows: Go to the file or folder you wish to add to backup. Right click the item. Point to Genie Timeline and select Add to backup. Note: You can disable/enable this feature from Windows Explorer Enhancements.

Read More

Open current location in Timeline Explorer

One of Genie Timeline’s Windows enhancements is to enable users to open any folder in Windows and view it in Timeline. To open a folder location in Timeline: From My Computer/Computer, browse for the location you wish to view in Timeline. From Windows Explorer’s address bar, click Explore Timeline. Timeline Explorer will open the folder […]

Read More

Disaster Recovery

In order to restore your system files and settings to a previous state, you will need to: Make sure Disaster Recovery is selected on the Smart Selections page. Create or prepare your Disaster Recovery startup disk. Restart your computer and boot from the Disaster Recovery startup disk to enter the Disaster Recovery wizard. The Disaster […]

Read More

Retrieve deleted files that have been backed up

Genie Timeline enables users to display a list of deleted files that are backed up with a simple click. To retrieve deleted files: Open the location of the deleted file. Right click in an empty location. Select View all deleted files. A list of deleted items will appear, point to the deleted file, and select […]

Read More

Searching an older backup

Every time a user chooses a new destination to backup to, the old backup database is closed and the active one is the default view in Advanced Restore and Timeline Explorer. Searching an older backup can be done from the Advanced Restore. To restore from an older backup: Open Advanced Restore from the Dashboard. Click […]

Read More

Search the Backup

Users have the option to search files in the backup using the entire file name or part of it: To Search the Backup: Method 1: Open the Dashboard. Type in the search term in the search backup text-box located at the right corner of the Dashboard. Press Enter or click the search icon. Method 2: […]

Read More

Restoring from an older backup

Every time a user chooses a new destination to backup to, the old backup database is closed and the active one is the default view in Advanced Restore and Timeline Explorer. Restoring from an older backup can be done from the Advanced Restore. To restore from an older backup: Open Advanced Restore from the Dashboard. […]

Read More

Start a new backup

Genie Timeline, for simplicity purposes, will only enable running one backup job at a time. Therefore, creating a new backup job will close the currently running backup and open the Setup Wizard. The old backup can be stored for archiving purposes. To start a new backup: Right click the system tray → Select Open Dashboard. […]

Read More