Adding items from My Computer tab

Genie Timeline gives a Windows-Explorer-like view to manually select any file/folder location for backup. To select files/folders from My Computer tab: Method 1: Open the Dashboard. Under Manage Backup, select Modify data selections. Click on My Computer tab. Browse to the folders/ files you want to backup and select them. Selecting the entire folder and its contents will have a blue check, […]

Read More

Running Backups

There is no need to schedule backups using Genie Timeline as the backup process runs automatically in the background. Although it is not recommended, users can stop backups by pausing the backup process, pausing will cause the protection level to drop. In addition, pausing a backup will not enhance your computer performance, because the backup […]

Read More

Pause/Resume Backup

Although Genie Timeline runs automatically in the background, users can control the backup process by pausing and resuming backup. If a user pauses a backup while Genie Timeline is currently backing up a file, Genie Timeline will continue backing up where it left off. To Pause the Backup Method 1: Right click the System Tray […]

Read More

Force a backup to run

Users can force a backup to run at anytime to ensure all changes since the last backup are included. To force a backup to run: Open the Dashboard. Click Run now located under status. Note: Disaster Recovery will run every 7 days regardless if Run now is enabled or not. To change this options, go to […]

Read More

Backup modes

Genie Timeline has different modes to adapt with different computing environments, these modes are: Smart Mode: Enable automatic adjustment of backup speed based on user activity to run seamless in the background; faster backup when computer is idle. This mode can be activated from the Dashboard. Turbo Mode: Run backup at Turbo speed for a […]

Read More

Backup markers

The backup markers are dots on each file or folder icons protected by Genie Timeline. Backup markers indicators: The latest version of the file is included in backup.   The file has been modified since the last backup.   The file has not been backed up.   The folder contents are partially or fully backed […]

Read More

Context menu options

When a user right clicks a file or folder, the following functions can be performed: Add to backup: Right click any file or folder to include in backup. Exclude from backup: This will exclude this folder or file from backup but will not delete older backed up versions. Show Versions: Right click a file to […]

Read More

Explore in Timeline from any Window

In any backed up location, users have the ability to view it via Timeline Explorer. To use Explore Timeline: Open any backed up location in My Computer/Computer. Click Explore Timeline located next to the Windows standard buttons under the Menu bar. Note: This feature is available in Windows Vista and up.

Read More

No-Backup Zone

The No-Backup Zone is located on the Desktop. This zone is a place to save files and folders that users do not want to add in the backup. To remove this location, simply remove all contents from it and delete it off the desktop.

Read More

Restoring from Genie Timeline

Genie Timeline offers easy to use, easy to access methods to restore and view backed up data. Users can restore/view data in more than one way: Timeline Explorer: The Timeline enables you to view all files and folders backed up, it is fully integrated with Windows Explorer. Deleted Files View: Right click a location or […]

Read More